A Very Good Place to Start

Standard

So, here I am.  Crazy, huh?  Well, it is to me.  Here I am, joining the blogging world, sharing a little bit of me with everyone.  More accurately, I’m planning on sharing my love for the kitchen, thanks to my sister-in-law who even suggested the idea.  Anyway… it seems that now I’ve become “themagicapron”.  After mulling over suggestions from friends (thanks, all!) and unsuccessfully trying some of those as the “address”, I turned to something my other sister-in-law said once–that there must be magic in my apron.  There’s not, for I often fall short of my expectations for meals and foods and such, but there is a lot of love in that fabric that I wrap around myself more than once or twice a week.  And while I really want the display name above to say “What’s On Your Plate?”, I have yet to figure that out.  Maybe someday… 

At any rate, that’s where I’ll start.  The apron.  A piece of it is here, as the background image.  Fancy?  No.  Expensive?  I don’t think so.  Handmade?  Yes.  I wish I could remember exactly when I got it, when I unwrapped the package from my mom (and dad).  It wasn’t a special occasion, but Mom didn’t need those as an excuse to sew something.  I imagine that it was simply that she had found the material scattered with cherries and thought of me (for I’m a sucker for cherries in kitchen decor, though I practice restraint in my own kitchen).  And so it was.  She never used an apron that I remember; my grandmas did, but not my mom.  And I really didn’t, either, not until she gave me this one.  That, and I realized after ruining countless shirts in vegetable oil accidents that it’s super-practical.  And this one is super-special, too.

Mom loved to bake.  I know she didn’t always have a lot of time to do it, but store-bought cookies were seldom found in our lunchboxes.  Birthday cakes were from scratch (unless you happened to be my June-born sister who got Dairy Queen ice cream cakes because the weather had ruined one too many attempts at a homemade one).  Christmas meant mint bars and toffee and almond bark and anything chocolate. 

So, I guess it’s no surprise that it’s something I love to do, too.  And now, every time I wrap that apron around me, tying those strings, I think of her.  It’s been 10 months since she went home to heaven and I’d guess at least 18 months since she last baked something.  Though I haven’t been shattered by grief, there are moments in which I miss her intensely.  And when I bake or cook and use that apron, I think of her.  I’m not sad; I’m glad to remember her and happy to be doing something she taught me, to be loving something she loved to do.  And as I cook and test and share with whomever takes the time to read these posts of mine, I’m sharing some love…

…and perhaps a little magic, too.  🙂

9 responses »

  1. This is a very sweet and touching start to your blog. Your mom would have been a loyal reader. I only wear my apron on rare occasions, and I don’t really remember where I got it from. But I like the idea of wearing it more, maybe you’ll inspire me to do that, too.

    • Actually, Mom made Dad a cherry pie from scratch for his birthday last year with the help of Pam. She mustered up a lot of energy for that one!

  2. Elisabeth, having sampled many of your culinary creations, I am really looking forward to this blog! Thanks for sharing.

  3. Your first post brought a big smile and a little tear. I miss your mom every day.
    We actually did some cooking together at their house a year ago. She did the coaching and I did the cooking and the result was a cherry birthday pie for your dad. Thanks for reminding me!

    • Ah, Betsy, I miss your mom so much. I remember her bringing Nathan and Mary over to sit in my kitchen with the day care kids while we had coffee and chat. She would be proud of your blogging and happy that you are wearing that apron. I have her work in my kitchen, too, especially now the valentine coasters in red and white that my tea cup sits on! Keep up the good work!

  4. Elisabeth, I’ve been reading your blog and am very impressed. Can’t wait to try out some of your recipes. Great job!

Leave a Reply

