Some Days Lazy and Some Days Crazy

Standard

Tonight’s menu:  slow-cooker beef roast.  Easy, right?  I love my lazy day way:  throwing a frozen roast in the crockpot, adding 2 cups of water (or a bottle of dark beer), 2 beef bouillon cubes, sprinkling it with about a teaspoon each of salt, pepper, onion powder, and garlic powder, and a couple shakes of paprika, basil, and oregano and letting it go all day.  The beef broth that results is worth saving, too, right?  Talk about the fixin’s for easy soup!  But that’s probably a whole different post… 🙂

So, while my beef roast is slowly simmering away in my crockpot, I also want to share a bit about something more complex and crazy… pot pie.  🙂

I love pot pie–chicken pot pie, especially.  That wonderful, warm, creamy-coated goodness under a crispy crust.  Yum!  I’ve tried different recipes, different variations.  A couple of years ago I discovered the Easy Chicken Pot Pie where you throw the chicken, frozen mixed veggies, and cream of whatever soup under a baking mix crust.  Throw in a dash of salt, a pinch of pepper, and healthy sprinkle of garlic powder and voila!  Supper is ready within 45 minutes and it’s pretty tasty.  No real complaints here. 

But then about a month ago I was watching my favorite show, “America’s Test Kitchen.”  There they were, Julia and Chris, making a chicken pot pie casserole.  With a savory crumble topping.  Double yum.  My question was, was it really worth the prep and work and time to make their version?  Sure, they rank right at the top of the list in my kitchen with advice and testing and tasting and science to back it up.  But all of the chopping and mincing and sauteing and browning and baking…? We’re talking an hour of time before it goes in the oven.  But, not about to miss out on something extraordinary, I set out last week and did it.  I carved out the time and chopped and minced and cooked and browned and baked…. and it was good.  Very good.  Yes, highly recommended.  And it makes a lot.  A full 9×13″ pan.  Enough for a family of four with some leftovers.  And plan on leftovers: reserve some of the topping and you’ll have some crispy, savory goodness for the next day’s helping.

You can check out the recipe for free at www.americastestkitchen.com.  Chicken Pot Pie with Savory Crumble Topping.  (It’s worth the minute to register your name and email to get some great recipes–I saw the Ultimate Chocolate Cupcake episode today and will need to be trying that!) 

And if nothing else, go ahead and make the easy version with chicken and cream of whatever soup, but make the crumble topping from this ATK (America’s Test Kitchen) recipe.  Make it, use some of it, and freeze some to save time for the next meal that’s worthy of a savory crumble topping (chicken pot pie soup, anyone?).  It’s worth it!

3 responses »

  1. I actually saw both those episodes of ATK. Wierd! I figure their recipes look like way too much work for one person:) Loving your blog!

      • Your yeast dough therapy is the same as mine! You simply can’t work that dough too much, and it turns frustrations into such a tasty end product.

        I recently realized that my yeast bread career is over 53 years long already. My mom’s basic recipe had six ingredients: yeast, water, sugar, flour, shortening, and salt. With those in varying amounts and flavors, I’ve baked bread from scratch for all these years. A swirl recipe is a long time favorite here, too. Keep up the blogging, Betsy!

Leave a Reply

