Play-off Pizza

Standard

Do grown-ups have a favorite food? It’s a question often asked of kids, one which generally receives one answer. But if you ask adults, I’d guess that it’s difficult to pick just one. My favorites include doughnuts, french fries, ice cream, kettle corn, anything with chocolate (well, almost anything–I’m not a fan of chocolate-covered fruit–I’ll eat the fruit plain, but why ruin perfectly good chocolate?), steak, and burgers. Obviously healthy. And there are others. But I’ve decided that my favorite food is pizza for two reasons: 1) it’s delicious, and 2) it’s one of the most versatile, diversified foods out there. I absolutely love making it, as you may have noticed by all of my posts about pizza (like here, here, here, and here). It can be easy; it can be challenging. But it’s always good. In our house, we have some version at least once a week. At the moment I have 3 par-baked homemade crusts in my freezer awaiting the addition of glorious toppings whenever we feel like having pizza and are a bit short on time. That’s the easy (or at least easier) version.

But then there are those times when the day is a bit more special. Those are the days when we might order out or go out, if we had the budget for that. And, now that I think about it, that’s a big part of why I’ve learned to be more adventurous in the kitchen. I don’t have an unlimited food budget, but I do have time and a yearning for good food. Like good pizza. So if I can make it at home…

Enter October. While I love September, I also love October. More fall flavors, more falling rainbows of leaves, my birthday (and my daughter’s and my sister’s and my sister-in-law’s and my brother-in-law’s… 🙂 There’s a lot of cake — I love that, too). And this year, October also brought post-season baseball to watch, as the Brewers found themselves in a pretty sweet spot this year. My husband is a huge fan and I’ve learned to love it, too. Oddly enough, it feels somewhat nostalgic to me, as my grandpa was also a huge Brewers fan and would listen to the games all summer long. As multiple sclerosis took its toll on his body, that was at least something he could enjoy. He would have loved this season!

This weekend marked the beginning of the first round of play-off games, so it was a special occasion in our house. A special occasion calls for special food. And, wouldn’t you know, this came up last week:

Cooking with the Cast: Make Chicago Deep-dish Pizza with Bridget

Perfect! Play-off Pizza! I’ve been wanting to make this version for a while. I printed the recipe off a few months ago and saw the episode a couple of weeks ago and just needed some incentive. Thanks, ATK! So, here’s how it went. My goal: to make you very, very hungry — hungry enough to try this recipe. Trust me, it’s worth the time and the pound of cheese!

Dough kneading in the mixer–see the cornmeal?

Dough rolled out and buttered

Dough folded like a business letter

 

Dough stretched in pan

 

Shredded onions browning for the sauce

After 30 minutes, it was 2-1/2 cups!

Out of the oven

Yum

Can we say “deep-dish”?

That’s buttery crust you’re looking at

Behind the scenes–good food doesn’t usually make pretty kitchens

Yum, part 2

Yum with a beer

Perfect Play-off Pizza

Here’s the recipe. Now, go have some fun!

Did I mention the Brewers won Sunday night? Yeah. Pretty awesome.  🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

