A Bushel and a Peck

Standard

It’s apple season. What a joy to see mounds of apples in every shade of red and green and yellow greeting me when I walk in the grocery store — all at an affordable price. Crisp. Tangy. Juicy. Delicious. Sometimes eating healthy isn’t so hard!

There are times in life when everything seems as easy and sweet as apple pie. I think there are also times in our life when our apple cart is full — heavy and precariously balanced. Then there are the times when it feels like we’re juggling too many apples, and we’re waiting for everything to drop. And through it all, don’t we yearn for someone to share it all with? I mean sharing beyond Facebook status updates. Even in this world of social media and constant connection, it’s easy to forget what real friendships are like. We sit with our electronic devices, zero-ed in on a screen, “connecting” with other people. Yet I think we run the danger of putting relationships into the parameters of those devices, fitting them into our own time and schedule and control — something we can turn on and off at will. Sharing means posting pictures for the world to see. If we don’t want to talk to someone, we simply don’t reply.

Yet on the flip side, this technology has allowed me to do something that I love. When I started this blog, I don’t know that I had a plan. I just knew that I love to spend time in the kitchen and I love to write and I love to share, so it all seemed to fit together. Along the way I’ve shared stories and memories and recipes, always a bit amazed at little things that transpire.

Perhaps it’s only me, but as life goes on, dragging us through the years at lightning speed, I tend to forget what life was like. What I was like. I get into the present and I forget things, like how much I enjoy Brahms No. 1. Or that I was the editor-in-chief of the yearbook my senior year in high school. I forget that I really do know some Spanish. I forget that while I wasn’t popular or cool, I had (and still have) some really great friends. Because of this blog which another friend has linked on her blog, one of those friends got in touch with me again. At a time when I most needed a reminder of God’s love for and around me, he did it in one of the best ways I could think of. Out of the blue, a couple weeks ago a package arrived in my mailbox. This dear friend whom I haven’t talked to in years sent me a cookbook. A cookbook! 🙂 It was an act of kindness which means more to me than she will ever know. Ever.

And at the height of apple season, she shared a favorite recipe from that cookbook for German Apple Pancakes. Puffy, eggy, sweet, tangy, and laced with cinnamon, they’re a perfect simple treat for a Saturday morning. Perfect to share with a friend.

_____________________________________________

Keep me as the apple of your eye; hide me in the shadow of your wings.  

–Psalm 17:8

 

German Apple Pancakes

  • 4 eggs
  • 3/4 cup flour
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 4 Tbsp. margarine
  • 2 medium apples, thin sliced
  • 2 Tbsp. sugar
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon

Turn oven on 450 degrees. Beat eggs, salt, flour, and milk 1 minute on medium speed. Mix sugar and cinnamon. Pare and slice apples. Place margarine in 2 round 9-inch cake pans in oven. When melted, remove. Turn heat downt o 400 degrees. Rotate pans to coat sides.

Put apples in pans. Pour batter over and sprinkle with sugar and cinnamon mix. Bake uncovered until puffed and golden brown, 20 to 25 minutes.

One response »

  1. This recipe sounds really yummy. I’ve never made an Apple Pancake before but I’ll give it a try. Need to make it gluten-free of course because of my husband but you usually can’t tell it’s gluten-free, so…

    Thanks for the recipe!

    Nancy

Leave a Reply

