Rising to the Occasion

Standard

October is a big birthday month in our family. My daughter’s birthday was last Sunday; my sister-in-law’s was October 6. My sister’s was this past Thursday; mine is today. My brother-in-law celebrates his on the 27th. I also have numerous friends who were born this month. There’s a lot of cake!

Last weekend my husband’s side of the family came over for the weekend to celebrate. It was a lot of fun! Making three cakes was crazy, but that’s who I am. There was red velvet cake (with white frosting and blue balloons and a top layer that slid during frosting–not one of my better moments) and chocolate beer cake and chocolate raspberry cheesecake. If you come to my house for your birthday, there will be cake. Promise.

My daughter’s teacher’s birthday was this past Monday, too. I always like to acknowledge those special days for teachers because I know it’s not always an appreciated job. I like to make bread as a gift–something handmade, something that won’t clutter up a desk or a drawer. Since I didn’t have a lot of extra time last weekend to bake, yesterday I made what I now call Birthday Bread. Since the recipe makes two loaves, it meant I could make myself a little something for my birthday, too. Two gifts for the price of one — perfect!

It starts with your favorite white bread recipe. When you add the second “dose” of flour, add a cup of raisins and 3-4 tablespoons sprinkles. After the first rising, when you go to shape the loaves, spread with one tablespoon softened butter and sprinkle with a mixture of 1/4 cup sugar and 1-1/2 teaspoons cinnamon per loaf. Roll up, place in the greased bread pans, and proceed with recipe as usual.

After baking, spread with a vanilla icing glaze (about 2 cups powdered sugar, 2 tablespoons softened butter, 1 teaspoon vanilla, and enough milk to make a thick, spreadable icing–putting it on the warm bread causes it to melt and “glaze”) and adorn with sprinkles.

Let the celebrating begin!

And there might just be another idea for Christmas gifts here, too… 🙂

 

One response »

  1. Pingback: Joy in the Kitchen « The Magic Apron

Leave a Reply

