This Week’s Eats – 11/13(ish) Edition

Standard

Another week, come and gone. Add the weekend to that, which came and went without my weekly posting. Yeesh! Do you remember how, as a kid, time dragged on with eternities until anticipated events, like Thanksgiving and Christmas? Now they seem to sneak up on me. Either that, or maybe I’m the one dragging!

I’m still operating without a scheduled meal plan. It’s driving me crazy. I have a list of meals to draw upon with the majority of the ingredients for said list (some items weren’t on sale yet, so I’m waiting), but that doesn’t seem to work well. If only the 31st of November would come more quickly! (That’s my novel idea–when a month has 30 days, add another completely “free” day to get caught up or do something fun without consequence to anything else–get paid without working and everything!)

At any rate, we did not go hungry.  

Sloppy Joes 

Mushroom & Rice Soup

For those who requested the recipe for this mushroom & rice soup, you gotta start by cooking a beef roast in the crock pot with 2 cups water and seasoned with salt, pepper, and garlic. You can add 2 beef bouillon cubes, too, if you want. You reserve the “broth” (I freeze mine, which conveniently allows for the fat to be removed easily upon thawing). That’s the soup base. Once you have this, your soup-making options are almost limitless–mushroom, vegetable, french onion… Then all I did was brown 16 oz. of thickly-sliced mushrooms and 1 large diced onion in 2 Tbsp. butter (or oil), add the broth, 1 cup rice, 4 cups of water (I think–I always end up adding more to stretch it), 1 or 2 beef bouillon cubes, and let it simmer on medium-low till the rice was cooked. I stirred in 1/4 cup cornstarch mixed with 1/4 cup water to thicken the soup (another one of my soup tricks to make it easier for my kids to eat it), seasoned with more salt, pepper, and garlic powder, and voila! You could add a can of evaporated milk to it, if you wanted it creamy.

Lasagna

Gone are my days of half-batch lasagna! This was all we had left after supper. I’m glad the girls like it, though!

Garlic Chicken Stirfry

I tried dredging the chicken in flour and cooking it before to get it crispy… A for effort, but it got lost when I added it back with the sauce and everything. Lesson learned!

Cheeseburgers

I braved the 42-degree weather and fired up the grill. There was no other option. And apparently we liked corn this week…

I also had mixed baking results this week. I made an awesome batch of brownies, but I completely botched a batch of banana bread. Too many bananas, I think. The loaves didn’t rise well; they’re heavy, dense, and super-moist. Not sure what to do with them. Ideas, anyone?

My attempt at my grandma’s drop doughnuts resulted in not-so-good results, mainly because I think the oil was too hot, so the outside cooked too fast and the inside didn’t cook completely. Oops! But the time I got to spend reading my grandma’s recipe in my mom’s handwriting was worth the effort. And, no, I don’t have a coffee can wrapped in flowered contact paper to store them in. Maybe that’s part of the problem… 🙂

Until next time, may your week be full of good food, good times, and goodness all around!

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: As Evening Descends « The Magic Apron

Leave a Reply

