Out of the Bag and In a Box — Spinach-Bacon Mac & Cheese

Standard

 So, you may have noticed things are a little slow on my side of blogging lately. The truth of the matter is that in less than  six weeks my husband and I are moving our family to Columbus, Ohio to begin the next chapter of our life story. So while I would much rather be in my kitchen cooking and baking up a storm, I’m actually working to pack up my kitchen to move. So while I will still be feeding my family and cooking as much as possible without relying on Papa John’s and Oscar Mayer too much, I won’t really be working to share those delicious meals with you.

Be patient, dear reader. There may be a surprise post or two here in the next few weeks — after all, a girl needs a distraction every now and then. And even if that should fail, fear not! I have every intention of continuing my kitchen adventures in Columbus and sharing them with you. 🙂

So, until then, here’s one of my absolute favorite meals that’s an easy and quick dish to whip up. I found it once upon a time (about three years ago) on the back of a bag of Kraft shredded cheddar cheese. It hasn’t let me down! You can make it exactly as is or doctor it up a bit as I do with garlic, mushrooms, and onions. Happy cooking, everyone!

Image

Spinach-Bacon Macaroni and Cheese

Anything in italics is my added extras. Omit if desired.

  •  3 cups medium shell macaroni, uncooked
  • 1 pkg.  (6 oz.) fresh baby spinach leaves
  • 4 slices bacon, chopped
  • 2 Tbsp.  flour
  • 2 cups milk
  • 2 cups shredded sharp cheddar cheese, divided
  • 1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1/2 cup chopped onion
  • 8 oz. mushrooms
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced

 HEAT oven to 350°F.

 COOK macaroni as directed on pkg., adding spinach for the last min. Cook bacon in large saucepan. When bacon is jsut about browned, add onion and mushrooms and cook until bacon is cooked through and onions are tender. Remove bacon, onions, and mushrooms; save drippings in pan.

ADD garlic and cook for one minute, stirring to avoid burning.  Add flour to drippings; cook and stir until bubbly. Gradually stir in milk. Bring to boil, stirring constantly; cook and stir 3 to 5 min. or until thickened.

STIR in 1 cup Cheddar and Parmesan; cook and stir until melted. Add bacon and macaroni mixture; mix well.

SPOON into 1-1/2-qt. casserole; top with remaining Cheddar. Bake 20 min.

Image

Leave a Reply

