Mounds of Memories

Standard

I know I said I wasn’t going to be posting much – if at all – during the relocating process, but today I need to take a quick pause to post a little something. As far as the whole moving thing, we’re getting there. I have 70 boxes taped up and labeled; we’ll see what the final tally is! We’ve had three showings of our house — no offers yet, but at least there’s been some interest in the past three weeks! We found a house to rent in Columbus that’s vintage 1961 complete with rust orange shag carpet and a bomb shelter in the basement. At least it has a garden and lots of storage space! Things are moving along…

Today, though April Fool’s Day, is not a joke. Rather, today marks the day two years ago when Mom went to heaven. I’ve been thinking of her through these past several weeks as I know she had at least one big move with several young kids and a house to sell. It’d be fun to chat with her about the big move, the progress, the anxiety, the excitement of making new friends, the sadness of leaving people we love dearly.

After something like five months of meeting (nearly) weekly, last Friday I made the last batch of snacks for my husband’s Bible 101 class. With not much time but not wanting to pass up the last chance to bake for them (and an opportunity to deplete some of my open pantry supplies before the move) I turned to Mounds bars. One of my mom’s favorites, I remember her eyes lighting up if we had some in our Halloween stash. And these bars were good, too. When I couldn’t find my mom’s recipe (I must not have it in my possession), I turned to the internet. The recipe is super-easy. They tasted as I remember.  

Here’s to memories, old and new and yet-to-be.

Chocolate-Coconut Mounds Bars

from cooksrecipes.com

First Layer:

  • 1-1/2 cups graham cracker crumbs
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar, packed
  • 1/3 cup melted butter
Second Layer
  •  2-2/3 cups flaked sweetened coconut
  • 1 (14 oz) can sweetened condensed milk
Third Layer
  • 1 (12 0z) package semi-sweet chocolate chips
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. For first layer: mix cracker crumbs, sugar and butter and press into a 9x13x2″ baking pan. Bake for 15 minutes.
  3. For second layer: combine coconut and milk. Carefully spread over baked crust and return to oven to bake another 15 minutes.
  4. For third layer: Remove bars from oven and sprinkle with the chocolate chips. Allow the chips to melt and then spread evenly over all. Cool (best done in refrigerator) and cut into bars.
Makes 24 servings.
7 responses »

  1. These sounded perfect and I needed to make bars for Nate to bring to the class he leads tonight. I only got to lick the spoon before he left so I’m really hoping to try one when he gets home later. Thanks for the yummy recipes and God’s blessings on your move.

  2. Thank you, Elisabeth for what might be your last Magic Apron before the move. This recipe sounds really good and I will make it soon. I have kept quite a few of the recipes you have passed along and will cherish them always. May God bless you and your family and best of everything in the years to come. Please keep in touch!

  3. We all remember the date as well and associate it with the loss of my mom, the kids’ grandmother, on April 1 of four years ago. They were both special ladies that we were blessed to have in our lives. What great Easter celebrations they must be enjoying in heaven! How blessed we are in the Lord. We will see him with our own eyes……

  4. I’m really enjoying your blog! Mounds bars are one of my favorites, so I’m definitely putting this on my list! I’d make them tonight, but I’m pretty sure the kids ate all the graham crackers…

    • How ’bout vanilla wafers? Animal cookies? Not so sure Triscuits would work, though Ritz crackers might add a buttery & salty element that might actually taste good.

      And I’m glad you’re enjoying my blog, too! That always makes my day… 🙂

Leave a Reply

