One to Grow On

Standard

Sometimes there’s nothing more satisfying than getting your hands dirty. Last evening I finally got around to giving the tomato and pepper plants a permanent home in my garden (at least till the frost gets ’em). They’ve only been sitting on my back step for a week. 🙂 Today I promised myself that I will finish planting the garden. For someone who had a relatively small garden prior, I have an ambitiously excessive variety of seeds that traveled with me from Illinois. Good thing I have a big garden!

Unfortunately, I can’t always find the seeds I’m looking for. I was hoping to try popcorn this year (since I have the space and it sounds like fun), but I can’t find seeds in the store and I’m not paying $8 to order seeds and grow popcorn when I can pay $1.75 in the store for a bag of kernels all ready to go. There are also many times when I wish I could grow things like chocolate. Peanut butter. Flour. Sugar. And I mean grow them in the already processed and packaged state. Talk about economical and convenient! 🙂

It’s Wednesday, and as many of you know, I try to go wheatless in my blog on Wednesdays. From what I can surmise from those I know living gluten-free, it isn’t easy, and it sure isn’t always economical and convenient! Or tasty…

Last week I set out to make a gluten-free cookie that didn’t involve funky flours but had chocolate. First, I tried using my gluten-free peanut butter cookie recipe, but substituted butter for the peanut butter. That didn’t go so well. So, I ended up adding the peanut butter back in, stirring in a healthy cup of chocolate chips, some peanuts, and ended up with a gluten-free chocolate peanut butter cookie.

I won’t ever be able to grow chocolate, peanut butter, or sugar, so I guess I’ll have to settle for tomatoes and peppers, beans and corn, and whatever other produce is hiding in the colorful paper packets I have. I suppose I can always wait for the chocolate, peanut butter, and sugar to go on sale. After all, chances are good that I’ll be making a trip to the store to buy some popcorn. 🙂

Gluten-free Chocolate Peanut Butter Cookies

  • 1/2 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup butter or margarine, softened
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 3/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 1 cup semisweet chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup peanuts (optional)
Heat oven to 350 degrees. Line two baking sheets with parchment paper. Mix peanut butter, butter, and sugar with electric hand mixer. Beat in egg and vanilla. Stir in cocoa powder. Add chocolate chips and peanuts, if using. Roll about a tablespoon of dough into a ball and place on baking sheet. Repeat with remaining dough, spacing cookie balls about 2″ apart on baking sheets. Bake, one sheet at a time, for 10-15 minutes or until center of cookie is set. Cool on baking sheets.

One response »

  1. Thank you for the recipe. I will be trying it out for my sweets loving gluten-free husband very soon. Good to hear from you.

Leave a Reply

