Cinnamon-Spotted Waffles

Standard

I married into a weekend/holiday breakfast-loving family.  Me — I come from a cold cereal or maybe a piece of toast-eating bunch no matter what the day or occasion. Weekend mornings weren’t generally leisurely. Rather, they were filled with laundry, dusting, and Saturday morning band. Don’t get me wrong — I remember the occasional Saturdays from my childhood that included warm breakfast puffs or doughnuts from the local bakery, but in general, we just didn’t do big breakfastes (as my 3-year-old daughter calls them).

These days, at least once a month my husband and I will pull out a big breakfast on a Saturday morning to feed our three daughters. Scrambled eggs or breakfast tacos make the easy cut; pancakes are frequent. My in-laws introduced my kids to chocolate chip and cherry chip pancakes. Bob Evans treated my daughter to cinnamon chip pancakes. But if I had my way, we’d have waffles all the time. I have always loved waffles. There’s something so fulfilling in their crispy exterior and chewy interior. The little square indentations help, too. 🙂

As a girl whose kryptonite is anything cinnamon-sugar/streusel-related (or chocolate, but that’s irrelevant to this post) and someone who looks to improve upon the already-good, I wondered if the cinnamon chip pancake idea would translate into waffles. What resulted will, quite frankly, make a mess of your waffle iron, but I think you may be quick to forgive and overlook this slight issue when you bite into the deliciousness that results (otherwise known as caramelized cinnamon-sugary waffle goodness — this is for my husband 🙂 ). 

Here’s to happy mornings!

IMG_2143

Cinnamon-Spotted Waffles

–adapted from Betty Crocker’s recipe

And, for the record, the cinnamon-sugar mixture works for pancakes, too.

  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 cups flour**
  • 1-3/4 cups milk
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil***
  • 1 Tbsp. sugar
  • 4 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 2 Tbsp. cold butter or margarine
  1. Heat waffle iron.
  2. Beat eggs in large bowl with hand beater or wire whisk until fluffy. Beat in remaining ingredients just until smooth.
  3. In small bowl, mix brown sugar and cinnamon till completely combined.  Using fork, cut butter into sugar mixture until butter pieces are coated with cinnamon sugar and texture resembles coarse gravel.
  4. Pour a scant 2/3  to 3/4 cup batter* from cup or pitcher onto center of hot waffle iron. I use a ladle to put batter in waffle iron. Sprinkle about 2 tsp. of cinnamon sugar mixture over batter.  Close lid of waffle iron.
  5. Bake about 5 minutes or until steaming stops. Carefully remove waffle. Serve immediately, if possible or set waffles on a wire rack set in rimmed baking sheet and place in an oven set at 250 degrees to keep warm.
  6. Repeat with remaining batter.  I highly recommend making the last couple of waffles plain to help rid the waffle iron of the caramelized sugar and make it slightly easier to clean, if you happen to be the type that cleans your waffle iron. 🙂
  7. Top with fresh berries or butter and syrup.  Or just eat plain.  Who am I to judge?

*Check manufacturer’s directions for recommended amount of batter.

**If using self-rising flour, omit baking powder and salt.

***1/2 cup butter or stick margarine, melted can be substituted for the oil.

 

3 responses »

  1. Thanks for the “goodness.” Is there something wrong with my computer or is your post dated wrong? It says March 25.

  2. Pingback: Breakfast Puffs | The Magic Apron

Leave a Reply

