Chocolate Mint Puppy Chow

Standard

I just realized I should have saved this for a Wheatless Wednesday post, but it’s really too late and too good to wait.

Tonight my family and I are going to a minor league baseball game.  My three-year-old continues to think that we’re going to “maybe see the yellow guy” (aka Bernie the Brewer) and “watch baseball like Dad watches on TV.”  Sorry, little one, but we live in Columbus, Ohio; sadly, we’re not going to a Brewers game.  But on an upbeat note — just like at Miller Park — we can bring in a small bag of snacks.  My husband gave me a gentle warning to not go overboard (“We don’t need 2 pounds of peanuts!”), so I’ve only been slaving away in the kitchen for a couple hours…

Just kidding.  I took 15 minutes.  After the seven-year-old put some peanuts in a large zip-lock bag, I needed something else to complement it. I was looking for something sweet to snack on.  Chocolate would be ideal.  Puppy chow, I thought.  But that’s got peanut butter in it, and you already have peanuts, I said to myself.  But stuck on that train of thought, I remembered how a few months ago I had wondered if one could make a chocolate mint variety.  Why not? I thought again.  And upon a quick search of the Google, I found some, but so many of them require mint chips or York Peppermint Patties or something to that effect.  I’m sorry, but I live in the real world with a limited budget; my pantry is stocked with chocolate chips on any given day, but the other stuff?  Yeah, not usually so much.  And so, taking the original Chex Muddy Buddies recipe and adapting it, I give you the very easy, very addictive, full of chocolate-minty goodness, Chocolate Mint Puppy Chow.  

IMG_2669Chocolate Mint Puppy Chow

  • one 14-oz. box Rice or Corn Chex (about 9 cups)
  • 2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup butter or margarine
  • 1 to 1-1/2 tsp. peppermint extract (my brand of extract is not very potent, so I add a little more; start with less and taste till you get the level of minty-ness you’re after)
  • 2 cups powdered sugar
  1. Put cereal in large, sealable (shake-able) bowl.
  2. Melt chocolate chips and butter in small, microwave-safe bowl for 1 minute.  Stir.  Microwave again for 15 seconds if mixture is not smooth and completely melted.
  3. Add peppermint extract to chocolate mixture.  Pour over cereal in bowl and mix carefully with a spoon until well-combined and cereal is covered with chocolate mixture.
  4. Add powdered sugar.  Cover bowl and carefully shake to evenly coat the cereal.
  5. Enjoy!
  6. Rummage around in the cupboard looking for another box of Chex and bag of chocolate chips.  I’m pretty sure you’re gonna want to make another batch. 😉

IMG_2670

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

