Breakfast Puffs

Standard

As the weather has cooled and the holiday season starts heating up,  I get giddy thinking about all the baking and cooking and creating I can do in my kitchen.

You may recall that growing up, my family rarely played up breakfast.  In the blurry fog of my morning memories, however, I recall about a 2-second vision of my mom and dad making chocolate chip doughnuts in a doughnut maker (which most likely found its way into the garage sale we had before we moved from Michigan to Wisconsin).  

I also more vividly recall breakfast puffs (because they didn’t require special equipment and survived the move).  Warm out of the oven, immersed in melted butter and immediately rolled in cinnamon and sugar… there’s not much that can get better than that in the morning.  The original recipe as my parents always made it yielded a dozen regular-sized muffins; when my sister, Rachel, was in college, she shared with me that she’d baked them in a mini-muffin tin. Brilliant.  I’m pretty sure it requires about twice as much melted butter and cinnamon and sugar, but it’s worth it. 

I strongly recommend the original recipe, however, I am including one variation that I’ve tried.  When I made chocolate cinnamon brownies, I had leftover topping and rolled some in that mixture with good results.  I tried a version using chopped apples, though it didn’t hold up well as leftovers.  I’m thinking a chai variety would work well; and I wonder about a more savory-sweet combo. Bacon pecan, perhaps?

Whatever your flavor, I’m pretty sure a batch of these will make your morning special.

002Breakfast Puffs 

  • 3 Tbsp. butter or margarine, melted
  • 1 egg white
  • ½ cup sugar
  • 1 egg yolk
  • ½ cup milk
  • 1 ½ cups flour
  • 1 ½ tsp. baking powder
  • ½ tsp. vanilla
  • 1/8 tsp. nutmeg
  • ½ tsp. cinnamon
  • ¼ tsp. salt

 Coating*

  • ¾ cup butter
  • ¾ cup sugar
  • 1 ½ tsp. cinnamon
  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Grease mini muffin tin(s) with shortening. 
  2. Beat egg white with electric mixer in large bowl until frothy. 
  3. Add remaining ingredients (except coating); mix together just until blended smooth.  Spoon into prepared mini muffin tins. 
  4. Bake for 10-15 minutes or until light golden brown.
  5. While puffs are baking, melt butter for coating in small bowl.  Mix sugar and cinnamon for coating in another small bowl. 
  6. When puffs are done, immediately remove from tin.  Cool slightly. 
  7. Dip entire puff in melted butter.  Roll in cinnamon and sugar.  Don’t be surprised if you run out and have to melt more butter and mix more cinnamon and sugar. Best served warm. 

 Makes 24 puffs.

*Use this in place of the cinnamon sugar mixture in above recipe.

 Cocoa Spice Topping

  • ¼ cup granulated sugar
  • ¾ tsp cinnamon
  • ½ tsp dutch processed cocoa
  • Pinch of ground ginger
  • Pinch of ground cloves

IMG_2442

One response »

Leave a Reply

