Sloppy Joe Pies

Standard

One of my weaknesses is browsing through clearance sections at any given store.  About a year ago I happened across ramekins for something like 30 cents each.  Up to that point I had survived without them in my kitchen and wasn’t entirely sure how much I would use them, but at that price, I figured it couldn’t hurt to have some on hand.  No, I haven’t used them every week since then, but I have brought them out a few times for various meals and tasks.  There’s also something special about being able to bake a portion of dinner in each one and place it in front of my girls as an alternative to the normal and mundane 9 by 13″ pan plunked in the middle of the table.

Last week I found myself on the backside of a college bowl party with a leftover batch of sloppy joe.  My girls will eat sloppy joes without complaint, but I wanted something different.  And so I pulled out the ramekins and a can of crescent rolls and went to work.  The result was individual sloppy joe pies.  There were no complaints.  Or leftovers. 🙂

IMG_2956

Individual Sloppy Joe Pies

  • 1 batch of your favorite sloppy joe recipe (using 1 to 1-1/2 pounds of ground beef), or try this one
  • 1 can of crescent rolls
  • sliced cheese (I used marble cheddar and pepper jack) or about 2 cups shredded cheese
  1. If necessary, make sloppy joe mixture.
  2. Place oven rack in lower middle of oven and preheat oven to 375 degrees or temperature indicated on the crescent roll directions.
  3. Lightly spray 8 ramekins with vegetable oil. Place ramekins on rimmed baking sheet.
  4. Unroll crescent rolls.  Divide into 4 rectangles (2 rolls per rectangle) and press seams together.  Cut each rectangle in half to make 8 smaller rectangles and carefully press each to make a bit larger.  Place one rectangle in each ramekin, lightly pressing into bottom and along sides.  The dough will not reach all sides of the ramekins.
  5. Carefully spoon about 1/3 cup sloppy joe mixture into each ramekin.
  6. Bake for 10 minutes.  Remove from oven and top with slices of cheese or 1/4 cup shredded cheese, each.  Return to oven.
  7. Bake for additional 10-20 minutes or until crust is golden brown and cheese is melted and beginning to bubble.
     

IMG_2957 IMG_2958

2 responses »

  1. I want ramekins. . .just to make this recipe! Looks so yummy and I know my boys would love it! Thanks for sharing. Can’t wait to see you when the weather is WARMER!

Leave a Reply

