Chocolate Chip & Bacon Baked Doughnuts

Standard

As a kid, I used to go to bed on Friday nights praying that the next morning would include doughnuts.  My fondness for them was no secret, as was made evident by the birthday card I received on my twelfth birthday.  And yes, I saved it, tucked between diplomas, graduation cards, a few letters, a pair of marching gloves, and other choice tokens of my growing-up years in the paper box of my past.   At the time, though, I wouldn’t have guessed that almost 35 years later the sight of my mom’s handwriting in that card would make my heart sigh a bit.  For the record, she preferred danish.

IMG_3083IMG_3085

IMG_3070

As for me, I never met a doughnut I didn’t like.  I tend to agree with my dear friend who confessed that doughnuts are her kryptonite.  When I was really little, I loved glazed doughnuts or the glazed or sugared cinnamon twists.  As I grew older, anything chocolate was good.  These days, I’ve found myself choosing the glazed ones or those smothered with white icing.  Sprinkles help, too.  Honestly, I’ll eat any doughnut put in front of me.  

As much as I would love to say every Saturday nowadays involves a trip to get doughnuts, very seldom do we do so. But it doesn’t mean that I don’t go to sleep on Friday nights dreaming of doughnuts the next morning.  A couple years ago I found a lonely doughnut pan on clearance.  I swear it was calling my name.  And while a single doughnut pan is not as ideal as two doughnut pans, it’s still better than no doughnut pan.

Now, if you’re looking for a real doughnut, baked doughnuts are not going to give you that fried dough goodness (that word’s there for my husband) you’re after.  If you want that, you gotta make the real deal with deep frying and all.  IMG_3072

I did that this past week with good results (see pictures).  But it’s more work than most people want to do.  It’s more work than want to do most of the time.  Thus, sometimes baked doughnuts will have to do.  It does not mean that they have to be boring, though.

I’ve had bacon on the brain for a few weeks, adding it to whatever I can, within reason.  Whether reasonable or not, one of those “whatevers” I added it to was this doughnut.  And while it may sound a bit bizarre, the salty fat with the rich, sweet chocolate bits encased in a ring-shaped baked good is very good.  The icing is optional, but it serves as a great medium to add more chocolate, bacon, and a few nuts.  

If you’re not brave enough to add the bacon, feel free to leave it out, or perhaps swap it with chopped nuts… or more chocolate chips.  You really can’t go wrong with more chocolate.

IMG_3080

 But seriously, I ask, why wouldn’t you?

So if you find yourself with a Saturday morning–especially one that dressed itself in gray & rain or frigid cold & snow, deeming pajamas acceptable attire for the day–why not brew up a pot of good coffee, twist up your bacon and eggs, and bake up some doughnut love for your family?   You might just find it a dream come true.

IMG_3064

Chocolate Chip & Bacon Baked Doughnuts

Makes 6 doughnuts; double as desired.  If you don’t have a doughnut pan, thoroughly grease a muffin tin or a mini-muffin tin (you could then call them doughnut holes, I suppose) and proceed with recipe.  They won’t have holes in them, but I’m sure they’ll taste just as good.  These would also make a unique dessert.

  • 1 cup minus 1 Tbsp. all-purpose flour
  • 1 Tbsp. cornstarch
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup sour cream (optional)
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 4 slices bacon, cooked crisp and crumbled
  • 1/3 cup miniature semi-sweet chocolate chips

Icing

  • 3 cups powdered sugar
  • 1 tsp. pure vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup milk (have more on hand to thin as needed)
  • 2 slices bacon, cooked crisp and crumbled (optional)
  • 1/4 cup miniature semi-sweet chocolate chips (optional)
  • 1/4 cup walnuts, chopped (optional)
  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Grease doughnut pan with vegetable oil cooking spray (preferrably for baking).
  2. Combine flour, cornstarch, sugar, baking powder, and salt in medium bowl.  Add egg, oil, milk, sour cream, and  vanilla and mix just until combined.  Stir bacon and chocolate chips into batter.
  3. Spoon batter into prepared pan (cavities will be quite full).  Bake for 10-15 minutes or until tops are beginning to become golden brown and spring back when touched lightly (the bottoms of the doughnuts will be a deeper brown, nice and crisp.  Cool in pan for 5 minutes.  Remove to wire rack.
  4. Meanwhile, mix powdered sugar and vanilla in medium bowl.  Add milk one tablespoon at a time until it’s a spreadable consistency.  Spread icing on each doughnut and top with crumbled bacon, chocolate chips, and walnuts, if desired.  You may want to recruit some helpers who are willing to be paid in bacon or doughnuts to help with this step, as the icing tends to set rather quickly, which makes getting the extra toppings to adhere more difficult.  Otherwise, top one or two doughnuts at a time.  Refrigerate leftovers, if there happen to be any.

IMG_3082

One response »

Leave a Reply

