Oatmeal Square Snack Mix

Standard

There are days when, as I walk down the cereal aisle at the grocery store, my eyes bug out and my jaw drops at the prices I see.  What used to be an affordable breakfast option is quickly becoming a luxury.  Even store brands are well over what I would consider reasonable.  Coupons are gold; on top of sale prices they can help soften the blow.

One of my favorite cereals has always been Quaker Oatmeal Squares.  They’re super crunchy and lightly sweet, though they rank right up there with the expensive cereals, and don’t seem to go on sale frequently (you know, like Cocoa Puffs and Fruit Loops).  But no matter.  I guess that makes them a treat.  

Years ago, my parents and their next-door neighbors would often get together for an evening of games and hanging out.  Snacks were always part of the fun, and one of my favorites was this one that uses oatmeal squares.  It’s slightly healthy with its mix of cereal, nuts, oats, and dried fruit glazed in a honey mixture.  I’m always a little sad because the oats never quite seem to adhere to the rest of the mix.  But I guess that leaves a bonus granola-type mix for breakfast when all the big chunks have been consumed.

I took the liberty of adding Cheerios and m&m’s this time around to stretch my resources a bit. I also found chocolate-covered cranberries on sale for less than half the cost of their raisin counterpart, so I used those.  I would highly recommend doubling this recipe, as once you start eating it, it will disappear as quickly as your morning breakfast.  

Happy snacking!

IMG_3115

Oatmeal Square Snack Mix

  • ½ cup butter or margarine
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • ¼ cup brown sugar
  • ½ tsp salt
  • 3 cups oatmeal square cereal
  • 1 ½ cups old fashioned oats
  • 1 cup chopped walnuts
  • 2 cups Cheerios (optional)
  • ½ cup cranberries
  • ½ cup chocolate-covered raisins, chocolate-covered cranberries, or yogurt-covered raisins
  • 1/2 cup m&m’s (optional)
 Heat butter, honey, cinnamon, brown sugar, and salt in medium saucepan, stirring until butter is melted and sugar is dissolved.  Combine cereal, oats, nuts, and Cheerios in a large bowl.  Drizzle butter mixture over cereal and mix well.  Bake in a 15 x 10 x 1” greased pan at 275o for 45 minutes, stirring every 15 minutes.  Cool for 15 minutes, stirring occasionally.  Add cranberries and raisins to cooled mixture.  Store in airtight container.
Leave a Reply

