Homemade Chocolate Sauce

Standard

I sit in the quiet of a summer morning, sunshine streaming in the window and a cup of coffee at hand.  It’s been a long time since I sat down to write, as I unintentionally gave up blogging for Lent which was immediately followed by packing up and moving with my husband and 3 daughters across town.  Now I’m caught in the time between feeling a bit caught up, waiting for the arrival of our baby (about 3 weeks to go, on the books), and that time of certain upheaval as I settle into a new way of life with four kids.  But for now I revel in the quiet moments, putting my swollen feet up when I can, doing my best to not put off until tomorrow what I can do today–just in case, and seeking out the simple.  This means chicken nuggets in the freezer and opening a can of enchilada sauce instead of homemade.  It means I’m extremely grateful for a home with a dishwasher and kids old enough to load and unload it.  It means a bowl of ice cream about every other night and not feeling guilty about it.  

My giant jar of chocolate sauce is almost gone.  I’m not too worried, however, as this recipe from my mom is about as simple as it gets with amazing results.  Since making this giant jar of chocolate, I might have had a hot fudge sundae or two.  Without the ice cream.  I’m just saying I think it’s pretty good.

As the summer heats up and you’re heading to backyard barbecues, pool parties, or simply lounging on your back patio, I can guarantee that the 10 minutes it takes to pull this together will not disappoint–over ice cream, angel food cake, a bowl of strawberries, or straight from a spoon.  Simple is beautiful.

IMG_3305
IMG_3308

Chocolate Sauce

I recommend making a double batch, especially if you plan on sharing at a gathering.

  • ¾ cup unsweetened cocoa
  • ¾ cup sugar
  • 1 cup water
  • 2 tablespoons butter

 In a saucepan, whisk together cocoa, sugar, and water. Bring to a boil, then simmer 5 minutes. Remove from heat and whisk in butter. Continue to simmer and stir with whisk 3 to 4 minutes. Enjoy over ice cream (or just by the spoonful)!  Store leftovers in refrigerator–a glass container will allow easy reheating.  

Leave a Reply

